Edens.nl: het laatste nieuws het eerst!

πŸ”’
❌ About FreshRSS
There are new articles available, click to refresh the page.
Before yesterdayL H

15 Hacks Every Opera Browser User Should Know

2 October 2026 at 15:00

The Opera you're using today is obviously a very different browser from the one it was decades ago. Perhaps the most significant change is that it's now a Chromium-based browser, which means you can install Chrome extensions to fill any features you may be missing. That said, the browser still retains its core philosophy of shipping useful integrated featuresβ€”even if those options aren't always obvious. From bypassing unskippable YouTube ads to using a built-in volume booster for every tab, here are the best Opera hacks you should know about:

Use "Early Bird" to try experimental features before release

If you live on the bleeding edge of tech, you can use Opera's "Early Bird" to try all kinds of experimental features. To do so, click the three-line menu in Opera's toolbar, scroll to the bottom, then select Go to full browser settings. Now, enable Early Bird, go through the list of features on the page, and enable the ones you wish to try. At the time of writing, these features include Browser Connector, which connects the browser to ChatGPT or Claude, and Sharing Point, which adds a button to share an Opera download link with your contacts. Note that these features can change or be removed at any time.

Use the sidebar to replace social media and chat apps on your computer

Opera has a sidebar that lets you install "apps" within your browser. It supports ChatGPT, Gemini, Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Translate, WhatsApp, Telegram, Instagram, Bluesky, music streaming services, and a few more apps. These services are pinned to the left pane, and function as their corresponding apps do. You can think of these as pinned tabs in your browser, which are all neatly stacked in the left pane. I've used the sidebar to run Apple Music, a few messenger apps, and Gmail, which is easier to track than the same services in different apps.

Of course, the sidebar versions of these services may not always have all the features that proper desktop apps do (e.g., music downloads on Spotify), but the overall implementation is quite good. Sidebar apps appear in a floating window in Opera, and you can pin that window to the screen if you wish to. You can configure the Opera sidebar by clicking the three-dots button in the bottom-left corner of the screen.

Use Split Screen mode for multitasking between tabs

You can open two tabs side by side in Opera for improved multitasking. To start, right-click an inactive tab in the tab bar and select Create split screen. This will place that tab, as well as the active tab, in a split-screen view. I find this helpful for research: For example, you can open a lecture in the main tab, and a search engine, AI service, or a notes app in the second tab. In split-screen view, you can continue reading or watching content on the main tab, while using the secondary tab to quickly look up information or to take notes.

Use "Video Skip" to zip past unskippable ads

The video ad skip button in Opera browser.
Credit: Pranay Parab

Opera supports bypassing unskippable video ads on various sites, including YouTube. When you watch a video in Opera, and an ad starts playing, you'll see a tiny forward button at the top of the video. When you click it, the browser will instantly take you to the end of the ad, though you may still have to press YouTube's "Skip" button. If you're on the ad-free tier of your streaming services, you can stop the Video Skip button from appearing on videos by going to Opera settings > Video. From here, disable Show Video Skip button on all supported videos.

Make PiP windows translucent to multitask while watching videos

I often watch videos in picture-in-picture (PiP) mode when I'm browsing the web or working, but I get annoyed when I have to keep moving the window around to avoid obscuring text on my screen. Opera has a useful feature to sidestep this issue: It lets you adjust the opacity of PiP windows, and you can make them translucent enough to avoid disturbing your workflow. To enable this for all PiP videos, go to Opera settings > Video, and enable Make pop out transparent. If you'd rather do this manually for each video, start playing the video, then click the pop-out button at the top of the video to send it to PiP mode. Finally, click the Transparency button in the top-left corner of the PiP mode video.

Disable unwanted AI features to streamline your browser

Like most tech companies these days, Opera has a bunch of AI features in its browser. Luckily, you can easily disable most of them. Go to Opera settings > Opera AI, then disable Opera AI and ChatGPT in the sidebar. This also removes the AI button from the browser's toolbar. Finally, you can click the three dots in the bottom-left corner of Opera's window and uncheck ChatGPT and Gemini.

Use Volume Booster for granular volume controls

Opera ships with a way to control the volume levels on each tab, a feature that requires an extension on most other browsers. When you're playing media in any tab in Opera, hover your mouse over the corresponding tab, and you'll see a floating menu with a volume slider. This lets you set the volume from 0 all the way to 500%, which can be great for audio sources with low volume levels. You can also use this feature to play music at a lower volume while listening to a lecture or a podcast.

Enable a hidden enhanced privacy mode

A hidden privacy mode in Opera.
Credit: Pranay Parab

Opera has a hidden enhanced privacy mode, which blocks trackers while you're browsing the web. You can enable this via Chrome Flags: Type opera://flags in the address bar and open the page. Then, use the search bar to look for Enhanced privacy settings section. Use the drop-down menu next to the feature, and select Enabled. Restart Opera, then go to Opera settings > Privacy & security. Scroll to the bottom and enable Enhanced privacy protection. Note that this may break the functionality of some websites, but I've been using it for a few days without any noticeable negative effects.

Set up advanced keyboard shortcuts

Opera has a few hidden keyboard shortcuts that tie actions to a single button, instead of the usual two or three key combinations. You can go to Opera settings > Features > Shortcuts, and turn on Enable advanced keyboard shortcuts to use the following keyboard shortcuts:

  • Press 1 to cycle left through the list of tabs.

  • Press 2 to cycle right through the list of tabs.

  • Press / to use the "find on page" feature.

  • Press Z to go back.

  • Press X to go forward.

  • Press 0 (zero) on Windows/Linux or + on Mac to zoom in.

  • Press 8 to zoom in more (in increments of 100%).

  • Press 9 on Windows/Linux or - on Mac to zoom out.

  • Press 7 to zoom out more (in increments of 100%).

  • Press 6 to return to 100% zoom.

  • Press Ctrl-` (the tilde button) to go to the previous tab you'd clicked.

Use Opera's screenshot tool to save and share webpages

Opera has a powerful Snapshot tool you can use to take a screenshot of the visible page, the entire webpage, or save the page as a PDF. I typically ignore all browser screenshot tools in favor of OS options or third-party apps, but Opera's screenshot tool is solid. After capturing a screenshot, the app opens a preview window where you can make basic edits and annotations. To use this tool, click the camera button in the toolbar, then select one of the available options. You can choose Capture visible page to take a snap of the webpage visible on the screen, Capture full page to take a screenshot of the full site without scrolling, or Save page as PDF to save the screenshot as a PDF. You can also take a cropped screenshot as well, if you only want to capture a specific section of the page.

Use "rocker gestures" to go back or forward quickly

Keyboard shortcuts and mouse gestures are useful, but Opera goes one step further with its "rocker gestures." Rocker gestures let you press the mouse buttons in a particular sequence to go back or forward on any webpage. You can try this by holding the left mouse button, clicking the right mouse button, releasing the left button, then releasing the right button. You can rock from the right button to the left to go back, and from left to right to go forward. To enable rocker gestures, go to Opera settings > Features, and scroll down to the "Shortcuts" section. Here, click the switch next to Enable rocker gestures.

Use "eSIM with Opera" for 3GB of free data the next time you travel abroad

Opera for Android now has an eSIM feature that lets you hop on a cheaper international roaming plan at certain times. If you're unhappy with your provider's roaming plans, you can check out Opera's offering. At the time of writing, Opera offers 3GB of free data for three days. The free data offer is available for people in the U.S., the U.K., Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Sweden, and the UAE. The roaming plan is currently supported in 47 destinations.

To use this feature, download Opera for Android on a phone running Android 10 or newer. Tap the profile icon in the bottom-right of the browser's home screen, scroll down, and select "eSIM." Hit the "Claim now" button, pick the destination you're visiting, review the plan summary, and tap "Confirm." This will activate the free trial. Opera says you can buy more data once the free plan expires, and that the data plan won't activate until you reach the destination you've selected.

Automatically enable Opera VPN on public wifi networks to protect your browsing

Automatically enable Opera VPN on public wifi.
Credit: Opera

Opera has had a built-in VPN for a few years, but there's now a way to automatically activate the feature when you connect to public wifi networks. That way, you can protect your browsing even if someone takes a peek at the public wifi connections. To use it, go to Opera settings > VPN, and enable "Always use VPN on public Wi-Fi." This feature is currently available in France and the U.S., but Opera says it'll add more regions in the future.

Change the default converted currency to one you prefer

When you select a currency on any webpage in Opera that doesn't match your local medium of exchange, the browser will display the converted currency in a pop-up. However, you don't have to stick with Opera's default currency. If you're traveling abroad, for example, you can change the setting to match the local currency, so you can quickly covert to the currency you'll be paying in. To set this up, go to Opera settings > Search engine, and go to the "Search Pop-up" section. Select the drop-down menu next to "Currencies to", and choose your preferred currency.

Automatically skip translations for languages you speak

Opera also has a built-in webpage translator. The moment you open a webpage in a foreign language, it'll offer to translate the webpage to English. If you speak multiple languages, this can be quite annoying, but it doesn't have to be. You can ask Opera to skip translations for websites in languages you also understand. Go to Opera settings > Languages, and in the "Opera Translate" section, click the Add languages button. You can add multiple languages to this list, and it'll skip translations for all.

10 Spotlight Search Hacks Every iPhone User Should Know

29 September 2026 at 22:30

We may earn a commission from links on this page.

Spotlight is the gateway to everything on my iPhone. From looking up contacts to toggling obscure features, I use Spotlight every day to get things done. But while many of us use it, I don't think most use Spotlight to its fullest potential. Yes, it's a way to search for things on your iPhone, but it's also a "launcher" for automations, a calculator, a currency converter, and a way to run tasks inside your favorite apps. If you have an iPhone, these are 10 Spotlight search hacks you should know.

Bypass the Clock app to set timers, alarms, or to use the stopwatch

The Clock app lets you set timers, alarms, and set a stopwatch, too. Normally, you'd launch the Clock app to access all those features on your iPhone, but Spotlight lets you bypass that. Open Spotlight on your iPhone, and search for "Clock." The top results will be: Clock, Set Timer, Add Alarm, and Stopwatch. Tap any of the last three buttons to run those features from your iPhone's Dynamic Island.

Tapping "Set Timer" shows a slider to choose the timer's length. Similarly, "Add Alarm" lets you set an alarm without opening Clock, and "Stopwatch" immediately starts the count, and even lets you pause or set a lap time without opening the app.

Locate text in photos and screenshots via Spotlight search

Your iPhone has built-in OCR (optical character recognition), which means that it can identify, select, and copy text in photos and screenshots. Spotlight lets you search for text in images without opening the Photos app. Just fire up Spotlight and search for a word or a phrase. The "Photos" section of results will show you all images containing your search term.

Convert units and currencies without opening websites or apps

Converting units in Spotlight.
Credit: Pranay Parab

I grew up in a country that follows the metric system, and I just can't wrap my head around Imperial units used in the U.S. and U.K. Every time I read something that mentions gallons, fluid ounces, miles, stones, or other units that should've been retired in the 19th century, I use Spotlight to convert them quickly. Try searching for "1 inch to cm," or similar terms with different units, and the result will display at the top.

For currency conversions, type the currency symbol followed by the amount, and Spotlight will convert it to your local currency by default. Try searching for "Β£120" or "$240," and the converted currency will show up in the results. You can also try a more specific query such as "Β£360 to USD" to convert to a currency of your choice.

Perform calculations in Spotlight's search box

I rarely open the calculator on my iPhone. When I need to perform basic math, I fire up Spotlight and type the calculation. It works with addition, subtraction, division, multiplication, and even percentages. The syntax for calculations is straightforward in Spotlight, but to get percentages, you'll want to try something like "20% x 180." This is great for calculating tips or splitting bills.

Type any date to create a calendar entry or to find photos

You can use Spotlight to quickly add calendar entries. Activate Spotlight on your iPhone, type a future date, and tap the Add button in the Event widget. This will open a Calendar entry page, and allow you to add the event without opening the Calendar app. You can also search for specific months from the past, such as "October 2024" to look for photos, messages, and emails from that month. The results show up in neatly organized sections under each app's name, and tapping a result takes you to specific photos, messages, or emails.

Type "Record" to start a voice recording

Recording a voice note via Spotlight.
Credit: Pranay Parab

Spotlight also allows you to start a voice recording quickly. Type "Record" to reveal results related to the Voice Memos app on your iPhone. Tap the Record button to record a voice note, and it'll show a timer and a stop recording button in your iPhone's Dynamic Island.

Download videos from Instagram, Threads, or YouTube directly from Spotlight

If you use iPhone automations to download videos from Instagram, Threads, or YouTube, you can run these directly from Spotlight. Just search "Download" in Spotlight, and the shortcuts named "Download Instagram," "Download Threads," and "YouTube Download" will appear in the results. As long as you have a video URL from one of those sites copied to the clipboard, tapping the respective shortcuts will instantly begin downloading the video. This is perfect for times when you receive a social media link in a messaging app. You can copy it, then run the automation via Spotlight.

Use Spotlight to enable greyscale mode when you want to eliminate distractions

I use this automation every day to reduce my smartphone usage. Searching for "Color Filters" lets me toggle that setting directly from Spotlight, and enables greyscale mode when I need to focus on work. Disabling this feature is just as easy. If you use any other feature that is buried deep in iOS settings, you can use Spotlight to search for it, and toggle it as needed.

Type "Focus" to toggle various DND modes on your iPhone

The search bar is not the most obvious place for switching between different Focus modes on your iPhone, but it works quite well. Just type "Focus" in Spotlight search, and it'll list multiple DND modes, allowing you to toggle the one you need. These results appear in the "Settings" section in Spotlight's search results.

Check iOS Settings to hide apps and content from Spotlight

You can also hide apps and search results from Spotlight. This is a good way to keep dating apps or sensitive data away from results. To set this up, go to Settings > Search on your iPhone. Under "Before Searching," tap the drop-down menu next to "Suggest Apps." Choose "Don't suggest" if you want to hide all app suggestions from Spotlight. Instead, you can use your iPhone's App Library to find and launch apps faster.

If that feels a bit extreme, scroll down to find individual apps you want to hide from Spotlight. Tap the app's name, and disable "Show App in Search." To hide results from that app in Spotlight, disable "Show Content in Search" on the same page. You'll have to do this once per app.

10 uBlock Origin Hacks Everyone Should Know

23 September 2026 at 18:00

uBlock Origin is lightweight, effective, and free from shady business practices. Unfortunately, Google's move to Manifest V3 for browser extensions has hobbled ad blockers somewhat. In response, uBlock has split into two productsβ€”uBlock Origin and uBlock Origin Lite. The "Lite" version works with most Chromium-based browsers and Safari for iPhone, iPad, and Mac. The full version of uBlock Origin primarily works in Firefox for desktops, laptops, and Android. With those differences highlighted, here are the 10 uBlock Origin (and uBlock Origin Lite) hacks you should know about.

Use uBlock Origin Lite's basic filters to block ads without giving it tab access

Basic filters in uBlock Origin Lite.
Credit: Pranay Parab

When you use uBlock Origin Lite in Chrome or Safari, it allows you to choose one of three filtering levels: Basic, Optimal, and Complete. The "Basic" filters won't block as many ads as the others, but it also doesn't require access to your tabs and data. These days, most extensions require access to every one of your tabs, which makes uBlock Origin Lite's "Basic" filters an exception that accesses as little of your data as possible.

Enable these filters to get rid of cookie banners

uBlock Origin and its Lite version both have built-in filters that let you block annoying cookie notices on most websites. To access this in uBlock Origin on any browser, click the extension's icon in the browser's toolbar, and select the gear icon. This will open uBlock Origin's settings page. Under "Filter lists," enable EasyList/uBO - Cookie Notices. This should automatically hide most cookie banners on the internet.

Use the element zapper to remove distracting elements

If you see a distracting element on a webpage, you can use uBlock Origin's element zapper to quickly hide it. To use it, click the extension's icon in any browser, and select the lightning icon. You can now click the distracting element, and the extension will immediately hide it from the webpage. In the Firefox version of uBlock Origin, you can also use the picker tool to select an element, and choose from a list of elements to block. For instance, if you want to block a sponsored results widget, the picker tool lets you click the element and choose from different tags associated with the widget. This allows for more precise blocking without having to click the exact spot on the page where the full widget is highlighted.

To use it in Firefox, click the uBlock Origin icon in the toolbar, and select the eyedropper tool. You can select an element, and use the drop-down menu in the blocker pop-up to choose from a list of classes to hide on the page.

Use this button to disable JavaScript and enhance privacy on Firefox

In uBlock Origin for Firefox, you have a one-click method to disable JavaScript on any webpage. You can use this to block trackers, annoying features that hijack scrolling, and in general, enhance your privacy. The risk is that blocking JavaScript can also break webpages, which is why you want to try it on individual webpages as opposed to disabling it at the browser level. To try this in uBlock Origin for Firefox, open a webpage and click the extension's toolbar icon. You can then click the > icon to disable JavaScript on the webpage. Reload the page, and Firefox will load it without JavaScript.

Try these shortcuts to disable uBlock Origin on a single page in Firefox

In Firefox, you can disable uBlock Origin for a single webpage. This is useful when the ad blocker breaks a webpage or doesn't load some elements correctly. To do this, click the extension's icon in the toolbar, and hold the Ctrl key on the keyboard while clicking the power button icon. Reload the page, and uBlock Origin will be disabled on that specific webpage.

Block large media elements to reduce data usage in Firefox

uBlock Origin for Firefox lets you block large media elements on all sites (or single pages). This allows you to reduce data usage on a metered connection. You can use it to block media elements above a custom size threshold like 10KB, 20KB, etc. To try this on a single webpage, click uBlock Origin's toolbar icon, and then click the film reel icon. Reload the page, and you'll notice that certain elements won't load. To set a custom size threshold for these elements, go to uBlock Origin settings in Firefox. Visit the Settings tab, and scroll down to "Default behavior." Enable Block media elements larger than, and use the text box next to it to set the size threshold (in kilobytes).

Try this blocklist to hide Google's AI-generated search summaries

uBlock Origin's AI blocklists.
Credit: Pranay Parab

uBlock Origin and its Lite version have a built-in AI blocker, which includes Google's AI-generated search summaries. To enable this feature, click the uBlock Origin toolbar icon, select the gear icon, and go to Filter lists. You can enable EasyList β€” AI Widgets. Now, search for anything in Google, and you'll notice that the AI-generated slop no longer appears up top.

Use the back up feature to sync uBlock Origin settings across browsers and devices

uBlock Origin for Firefox has a built-in sync feature that uses your Firefox account to sync settings across devices, but it's not available in uBlock Origin Lite. In Firefox, you can go to uBlock Origin settings, and turn on Enable cloud storage support. Your uBlock Origin settings will then sync to every device where you're logged in with the same Firefox account.

There's also a manual sync feature that works in both versions of uBlock Origin. Head to the extension's settings, navigate to the Settings tab, and select the Back up button. This will back up your uBlock Origin settings to a file and save it to your device. You can use the Restore button on the same settings page to load saved settings to any browser running uBlock Origin. The only restriction is that you can sync uBlock Origin Lite settings with other browsers running the Lite version, while the Firefox version of uBlock Origin can only sync with other instances of Firefox.

Use uBlock Origin's tracking link blocker to stop sites from tracking your clicks

Many websites add trackers to links you copy. Sites like Instagram, Facebook, and Threads use sharing links to trace which profile shared the links with you. Luckily, uBlock Origin can block most of these types of trackers. In uBlock Origin settings, go to Filter lists, and enable AdGuard/uBO β€” URL Tracking Protection. That said, I recommend that you check the URLs before sharing them with others. Sometimes, you may have to manually strip tracking data because no anti-tracking feature is completely foolproof.

Reduce tracking on international websites with region-specific blocklists

uBlock Origin also ships with region-specific blocklists that target trackers from different locations across the world. If you find yourself accessing many websites from foreign countries, you should enable these blockers from uBlock Origin's settings. In the Filter lists tab, click the Regions, languages button to expand the list. This will reveal all country or region-specific blocklists. Enable the ones you need, and you're all set.

These Are the Best Clipboard Managers for Your Mac

4 August 2026 at 17:30

Last year, the Mac gained a built-in clipboard manager, which means macOS can finally remember everything you've copied. This feature is disabled by default, but it's easy to enable to keep track of the text, photos, and other files in your clipboard. The catch is that you need to be running macOS 26 Tahoe to use the built-in clipboard manager, which isn't an option for those with older Macs. What's more, Apple's implementation of the clipboard manager is basic. While it works well for most, if you need more features, you're going to have to use third-party alternatives. Luckily, there are plenty of excellent choices.Β 

Spotlight search: The best clipboard manager for most people

Spotlight's clipboard history on a Mac
Credit: Pranay Parab

Not everyone needs an advanced clipboard manager. For most people, an app that does the basics is good enough, and it's even better if that app ships with your Mac. As long as your Mac is running macOS 26 Tahoe, you can use the built-in clipboard manager. I wrote about using Spotlight as your clipboard manager, and it's been super convenient. You need to enable it by going to System Settings > Spotlight > Results from Clipboard, but after that, you're all set. Spotlight will log everything you copy, except sensitive information such as passwords. You can then access all of your clipboard entries by pressing Command-Space (or clicking that magnifying glass in your Mac's menu bar) and then Command-4.

This feature is good enough to get started with clipboard management, but it doesn't sync clipboard history across devices or support features like categorizing copied items by type. If you need advanced features to speed up your workflow, you'll have to rely on third-party apps. It's also worth noting that if you use Spotlight alternatives such as Alfred or Raycast, those apps ship with clipboard managers, too. You don't have to switch back to Spotlight just for this feature.

Maccy: A simple, free clipboard manager for older Macs

Maccy app on a Mac
Credit: Pranay Parab

If you can't install macOS Tahoe on your Mac, or if you use an older Mac that isn't supported any longer, you can download Maccy to get a fast, free, and open-source clipboard manager that's just as good as Apple's built-in feature. Maccy is a lightweight menu bar app that displays clipboard history when you click its icon. It also lets you quickly search through your clipboard entries and functions reliably without getting in the way of your work. Plus, you can set up a list of applications to ignore, which means that you can stop it from storing data when you copy from sensitive apps such as Slack or Microsoft Teams, among others.

PastePal: A great paid clipboard manager

PastePal app on a Mac
Credit: Pranay Parab

I bought PastePal a year ago, and it has served me well ever since. This app is available as a one-time purchase at a reasonable price, and it has pretty much every feature you could ask for. In addition to basic clipboard management, it lets you automatically remove tracking URLs from links, or transform text between uppercase and lowercase. I also love that it lets you edit items you've copied, which makes life a lot easier when you've accidentally copied a few extra characters with your text.

PastePal also supports sequential paste, which means that you can copy a bunch of items and paste them one-by-one. This is great for speeding up repetitive tasks such as copying from one window and pasting in another. My only complaint with this app is that its interface is not super intuitive. If you like your apps to be pretty, you will be disappointed here. While PastePal has all the features you need, you'll have to spend some time digging through settings to make the most of them. That's an acceptable compromise for me, but it may not be for others. You have the option of buying PastePal direct from the developer or from the Mac App Store. The App Store purchase also unlocks the app on iPhone and iPad, in addition to Mac.

Pastebot 3: Best for transforming text, applying smart filters

Pastebot 3 settings on a Mac
Credit: Pranay Parab

The developers of Tweetbot (RIP) launched a new version of their clipboard manager app for Macβ€”Pastebot 3β€”in July 2026. This app gets all the basics of clipboard management right, and adds a layer of smart filters on top. This means that Pastebot can do things like automatically convert copied text to title case, uppercase, and other text transformations. It can even extract links from copied text and arrange those for you in a format of your choice, such as one link per line. These filters ship with the app: You can assign custom keyboard shortcuts to trigger them, and you're free to create custom filters that work best for your workflow.

Pastebot also lets you create "Smart Pastebins," which are like having smart folders in your clipboard manager. The simple version of this automatically identifies links or images in the clipboard and groups them. You can enhance that by creating your own Pastebin by choosing a source app to trigger it, and defining the conditions that add items to that folder. For instance, I've set up a Smart Pastebin for text copied from Ulysses, which is my favorite writing app on the Mac. This allows me to sort and find work-related clipboard entries quickly.

My only major complaint with Pastebot is its lack of an iPhone app. The developers suggest using Apple's universal clipboard to move items between an iPhone and a Mac. That's fine when the feature works, but it's frustrating when universal clipboard occasionally fails. Pastebot for Mac has a two-week free trial, and after that you can either buy it directly from the developers for a one-time fee, or sign up for a subscription via the Mac App Store.

Paste: Pricey, but the best clipboard manager overall

Paste app on a Mac
Credit: Pranay Parab

I think Paste is the best clipboard manager for Apple devices overall. It's feature-filled and has the best interface that you could ask for in this kind of app. It reliably handles your clipboard history, lets you choose which apps to exclude from its tracking, allows you to organize and pin items, and supports advanced features such as extracting text from images and sequential pasting.

It also uses a rather simple and intuitive keyboard shortcut (Command-Shift-V) to open or close the clipboard history panel. Plus, there are extra touches, such as letting you view a preview of a webpage when you've copied a link to it. This makes it easy to check if a link is working before you paste it into an app. It's an overall neat and thoughtful app that's well worth recommending. Its only major drawback is the lack of text transformation and automation rules, and I hope that the developers add that in future updates.

Paste is available on the Mac App Store, but its premium tier requires a subscription fee. This unlocks the app on all devices and lets you sync your clipboard history. I think it's a bit pricey, but it is the best third-party clipboard manager for most people. That said, its one-time purchase fee is way too high when compared with the competition.

  • Download: Paste ($4/month or $30/year; one-time purchase fee is $90)

10 Snipping Tool Hacks Every Windows 11 User Should Know

31 July 2026 at 21:00

Snipping Tool is the default app for screenshots in Windows 11. There's a lot more to the app than that, however: With it, you can take screen recordings, extract text from images or websites that disable copying, and use a reverse image search tool. While ShareX is still my favorite app for taking screenshots in Windows, I think Snipping Tool has reached a point where it's great for both beginners and power users. Here are 10 essential Snipping Tool hacks that every Windows 11 user should know.

Use 'Scan Text' to copy text from images

Copying text from images is one of the most common uses of screenshot tools, and Snipping Tool does it quite well. You can right-click any image in Windows 11, and go to Open with > Snipping Tool. Once the photo opens, you can click the Scan Text button to select all the text in the image. Windows will take a few moments to identify all the text in the photo, and, when it's ready, you can click Copy all text from the popover menu. You're also free to select a single sentence or block of text by clicking and dragging the cursor over it, and you can right-click this selection to reveal the Copy text button.

Use Text Extractor to copy text without taking screenshots

If all you want to do is copy text from sites that disable copying, interface elements in an app, or PDFs of scanned pages where you can't select the text easily, then you should use Snipping Tool to select and copy text without even taking a screenshot. This allows you to reduce unwanted image clutter by skipping the "taking a screenshot" step, and jumping straight to extracting text. To try this, open the Snipping Tool app in your Windows PC, and click the Text extractor button in the toolbar. You can click and drag over an area of the screen that contains text, and the app will automatically select it in a moment or two. Click Copy all text in the popover menu, and you're done.

Use this setting to automatically redact sensitive information from screenshots

Automatically redacting sensitive information from screenshots.
Credit: Pranay Parab

Snipping Tool allows you to do some basic image editing, which you can use to automatically redact sensitive information from screenshots. Open any screenshot in Snipping Tool, and click Scan text. Once the tool scans for text, a popover menu will appear. You can select Quick redact here to automatically hide all phone numbers and email addresses in the screenshot. It's pretty accurate and puts a black bar over sensitive information, which is much safer than blurring phone numbers and email addresses.

Use the timer to set up your screen before taking screenshots

Setting up an elaborate screenshot on your PC can be frustrating since Snipping Tool takes the screenshot instantly by default. In these instances, you can set a delay of three to 10 seconds before you capture the screen. If you have the Snipping Tool open, right-click its icon in the taskbar to quickly take a timed screenshot. Three buttons let you take a screenshot in three, five, or 10 seconds. You can also set up the Snipping Tool to always add a delay before capturing a screenshot. Open the app, and click the camera icon in the toolbar. Then, click the timer icon in the toolbar, and select the delay you wish to add.

Use Snipping Tool for screencasts to help others solve tech issues

When my friends or family members call for help with tech issues, I often send them a screencast with commentary to show how to fix the issue. In Snipping Tool, you can toggle a setting to include microphone audio by default when you record the screen. This lets me record my voice while I'm demonstrating how to solve the problem, and I use the mouse pointer to highlight what to click. Once you set up Snipping Tool to record your audio by default for screen recordings, this process hardly takes any time. Open Snipping Tool in your PC, and click the three-dots icon in the top-right corner. Select Settings, and enable Include microphone input by default when a screen recording starts.

Use this feature to produce social media-ready screenshots

Adding a border to screenshots in Snipping Tool.
Credit: Pranay Parab

When you capture screenshots, you can make Snipping Tool automatically add a solid color border to each image. This is great for posting to social media, as it makes screenshots look uniform and fit your aesthetic. Go to Snipping Tool settings and enable Add border to each screenshot. Select the Color block to pick the color you want for the border, and use the Thickness slider to adjust the width of the border.

Use the Freeform tool to capture screenshots in irregular shapes

The Freeform tool lets you draw an area on the screen, and captures a screenshot of everything inside that area. You can draw any shape you like, and the tool automatically closes small gaps in the shape to complete the screenshot. I like the fact that the Freeform tool is forgiving enough to smooth out poorly drawn shapes, which means you don't necessarily need to have steady hands to capture useful screenshots. To use this tool, open Snipping Tool, and click the camera icon in the toolbar. Next, select the rectangle icon, and choose Freeform. When you take the next screenshot, Snipping Tool will let you draw an irregular shape on the screen.

Disable automatic saving to stop screenshots from piling up on your PC

If you disable auto-save for screenshots, it directly copies screenshots to the clipboard. You can then make edits and send them to the app you need, or hit the save button to store the edited screenshots. This stops screenshots from piling up and adding to the clutter on your hard drive. I only need to save around one in 10 screenshots I capture, which makes this particularly useful for me. To try it out, go to Snipping Tool settings and disable Automatically save original screenshots.

Use this tool to hide people's faces from photos or screenshots

Snipping Tool has a "Shapes" option, which is meant to hide people's faces from images or screenshots. Here's how it works: Once you open an image in Snipping Tool, you'll see a bunch of editing tools in the toolbar. Select the Shapes tool, which is next to the Eraser tool, and you'll see a series of options. Select the Emoji tool to add an emoticon over faces. Alternatively, you can select the Square or Oval tools, but be sure to use the color fill option to hide private information thoroughly. Select Fill, and choose a color. You can also disable the Outline if you wish to, as it adds a border to the shape you draw on the screenshot. Then, you can draw a rectangle, square, circle, or an oval on the screenshot, and you'll find a solid color block that can hide sensitive information.

Use the built-in reverse image search to identify objects in the screenshots

Snipping Tool has a reverse image search feature that uses Bing to locate objects, places, or elements from your screenshots or images. You can use this to identify subjects in an image, or to check if a scammer has copied a profile picture from a different person's profile. To use this feature, open an image in Snipping Tool, and click the three dots in the top-right corner of the app. Select Visual Search with Bing, and it will open Bing's reverse image search results in your default browser.

It Just Got a Lot Cheaper to Try Gemini Spark, Google's AI Agent

24 July 2026 at 17:00

Gemini Spark, the AI agent built into Google Gemini, is now a lot cheaper to try out in the U.S. Previously, Gemini Spark was exclusive to the Google AI Ultra plan, which costs $100-$200 per month. The company is now bringing the agentic AI to its AI Pro plan, which costs $20 per month. (For now, this change is exclusive to the U.S.)

When Gemini Spark was announced during Google I/O 2026, its features seemed potentially useful, but the barrier to entry was too high for most people. That appears to be changing now, as Google has cut the price by as much as 90%. It is not yet available on the $5/month AI Plus plan or the free tier, but that could change in the future tooβ€”though it's likely that using Gemini Spark on lower pricing tiers could mean that you hit your usage limits much faster.

What is Gemini Spark?

Google Gemini is a chatbot and a voice assistant that answers your questions, creates text, media, and even entire apps for you. Gemini Spark takes those capabilities to your Google account and executes actions for you.

You can think of Gemini Spark as a personal AI assistant that can look at your emails, calendar entries, photos, and other data in your Google account to perform tasks on your behalf. You can use Spark to bulk unsubscribe from mailing lists, make flight bookings, send reminder emails to clients, colleagues, or family members, book appointments, and much more.

Having said all that, a Gemini Spark overview from out sister site PC Mag emphasizes that its features tend to overlap with Gemini. PC Mag called Spark the best AI agent yet, but that doesn't mean it's perfect.

Does Gemini Spark respect your privacy?

To someone who is even remotely privacy-conscious, using Gemini Spark is going to sound quite invasive: You basically have to give it access to your entire computer if you want it to be able to act on your behalf. Google is aware of that, and has programmed the AI agent to ask for confirmations before performing certain actions. If you ask the agent to find birthday photos from 2017 and email them to someone, for example, Gemini Spark will show you the pictures and ask for a confirmation before actually sending the email. It applies the same logic to deleting emails, sending messages, using your saved credit cards to pay for reservations, and more.

It's worth keeping in mind that AI services have created serious problems for people who use these apps without due caution. The biggest strength of Gemini is its access to all the data that’s in your Google account, but if you give it unrestricted access and the AI agent messes up a request, you could be stuck with an incorrect hotel reservation, a flight booked to a wrong country, or other serious consequences.

This Safari Extension Can Block Unwanted Content on Any Website

16 July 2026 at 15:30

I try to avoid opening news websites as much as possible these days. One can only read so many articles about crime, war, and all of the many other injustices in this world, and I've often wished I could filter out the news I don't want to know about. I've done this, to a large extent, on social media platforms, some of which allow you to block posts containing certain keywords, while doing so on others requires a browser extension.

However, the problem persists on the broader web: I can't open any big-name news website without seeing repeated mentions of the poor decisions of billionaires and politicians or the tragic effects of climate change, and I've been looking for a way to give myself a bit of a buffer against the onslaught of despair. I finally found an effective method when I started using Filtre, a recently launched Safari extension that allows you to hide pages containing keywords you'd rather avoid. The concept is simpleβ€”create your list of keywords, and the extension will handle the rest. It works quite well for the most part, and I recommend trying it outβ€”your mental health will thank you.

How to set up Filtre on all your Apple devices

Adding filter sets in the Filtre extension for Safari
Credit: Pranay Parab

Filtre works on the iPhone, iPad, and Mac, and a single purchase unlocks the extension's features across all three platforms. You can get started with the week-long free trial, after which the app costs $1.50/month, $9/year, or a one-time purchase fee of $28. Once you've made that decision, it's easy to set up. You fire up the app, give Filtre permission to access websites, and start adding keywords you want to block. Extensions like these aren't very useful if they don't sync filters across devices, and I'm glad to see that Filtre ships with iCloud sync compatibility. In my testing, it was able to instantly sync filters between my Mac and iPhone.

Use this extension to filter out noise or avoid spoilers

There are many ways to use an extension like Filtre, but I've mostly been using it to limit political news. It's easy to set up a few keywords that block out names of politicians, and the extension lets you choose how you wish to obscure those headlines. The default option will hide all mentions of your chosen keywords, but you can also choose "Fade" or "Greyscale." Fade keeps headlines intact but blocks your keywords in place, and reduces the headlines' opacity to make them easier to skim past. Grayscale converts any part of the webpage that includes your keywords into black-and-white. You can adjust these options under the Default Settings tab in the Filtre app (which will appear in the app drawer on your iPhone/iPad or be searchable via Finder on a Mac).

How Filtre's fade filter works in Safari for Mac.
Credit: Pranay Parab

Set different customizations

While universal filters are the default, you can also create different sets of filters for different websites. For instance, if you visit a website that covers movies or video games, you could create a filter set to hide spoilers from Christopher Nolan's Odyssey or Grand Theft Auto 6 on those sites only.

In Filtre's Website Settings tab, you'll be able to set up different filters for each site you frequent, or choose to disable some filter sets on certain sites. The extension allows you to export filter sets easily, which is convenient when you want to share your blocklists with others, and also for those who want to avoid using iCloud sync. You can send a filter list via AirDrop and load it on another of your devices.

I did notice a few minor limitations while using the extension. For example, I've deleted Instagram's app from my devices, so when I need to access the site, I open it in Safari. Filtre didn't seem to have any impact on my Instagram feed at all. Since most social media sites allow you to mute keywords already, this limitation didn't bother me much. (On the plus side, Filtre does work with Reddit, though it started hiding my entire feed when I switched to Old Reddit.)

Filtre passes the privacy check

My biggest concern with browser extensions is how much data they can access. For Filtre to be effective across the web, you'll need to give it permission to access every website you visit, which might sound quite invasive. However, the developer Jeffrey Kuiken has explicitly stated that the app doesn't collect any of your data, and it even stores all your filters only locally and in the linked iCloud account. The same developer also made Noir, an extension that enables dark mode for every website you visit in Safari, and has earned the community's trust via a transparent business model and regular updates.

Your iPhone Is Hiding a Powerful Document Scanner

13 July 2026 at 15:30

I regularly use my iPhone to scan physical documents like medical reports, identity cards, forms from my bank, etc. Since 2015 or so, I've used an app called Scanner Pro to get the job done. It works well enough, but the best features require a subscription and it is no longer as fast as I'd like it to be. I've long known about Apple's built-in scanner in the Notes app, but it isn't as convenient as the app I've been using, so I never made the switch.

That changed when I recently discovered another built-in scanner on the iPhone, hidden away in the Preview app, of all places. This one is fast, free, and well integrated with the Files app, which is a big plus. Here's why you should consider using it

Your iPhone's Preview app has a hidden document scanner

Your iPhone ships with an app called Preview, which was added with the release of iOS 26 in 2025. Now, when you open a document in the Files app, your iPhone will automatically switch to Preview and load the it. However, if you open the Preview app directly, you'll see a "Scan Documents" button front and center. I've been using iOS 26 since the developer betas released, but I only noticed this feature after the recent release of the iOS 27 betas.

When you tap Scan Documents in Preview, your iPhone will fire up the viewfinder, and you can point the device at the documents you want to scan. Like Scanner Pro, the Preview app's scanner automatically identifies document borders, takes a picture to scan, and reopens the viewfinder so you can point the camera at the next page; it'll scan that quickly too. Continue this process till you're done scanning, after which you can hit the checkmark button in the top-right corner. The scanned PDF will automatically be saved to your iCloud Drive folder, without the need to export it. I found this process to be really fast and intuitive enough to recommend to my family members, who resist any technology that requires them to install a new app or press more than two buttons.

When the scanner is open, you'll see four buttons near the bottom of the screen. The big shutter button lets you manually click pictures for the scan, and the other three let you toggle flash, set color filters, and toggle on the auto-shutter feature, respectively. Auto shutter is the best feature of this app, as it automatically scans a page the moment it detects borders, but it's not perfect. If you want more precise control over your scans, you can disable it, and control the shutter manually.

Why Preview's scanner is much better than the one in Apple Notes

I don't enjoy dealing with PDFs in Apple Notes, and that's the best argument for using the scanner in Preview, which immediately saves those documents to the Files app. First, Notes makes it much harder to find and use the scanner: You need to open a note, tap the paperclip icon, and select the document scanner from the menu. The output is saved in the same note, and I find it unwieldy to deal with PDFs from within in the Notes app, which is best suited to viewing text-only notes.

I now only use the Notes app to scan documents when I specifically want to store the file in the Notes app. But other than the odd recipe I might scan to keep there, I don't foresee myself using the Notes scanner again. In most cases, Preview's scanner does a much better job.

Another third-party scanning app to consider

If you want more features than Apple's document scanner, there are third-party apps that may suit you better. In addition to Scanner Pro, which I mentioned above, Adobe Scan does a great job with scanning, OCR (optical character recognition) and has a generous free tier. In the free tier, Adobe Scan lets you capture unlimited scans, provides 2GB of space in Adobe Document cloud, and offers OCR for documents up to 25 pages long.

The premium tier costs $10/month, and adds a bunch of PDF editing features such as combining PDFs, extracting specific pages from a scan, and editing text in PDFs. You also get to use OCR on scans up to 100 pages per document, up to 20 GB of cloud storage, and a tool called Magic Eraser, which can automatically remove your thumb or fingers from scanned pages. I think the free tier is good enough for most people, but the most annoying thing about Adobe Scan is that even the free tier requires you to sign up for an account. You can sign in with your Apple, Google, or Facebook accounts to make it quick, but it's still an unnecessary step for those who just want an app that'll let them start scanning the moment it's installed.

10 'Preview' Hacks Every Apple User Should Know

9 July 2026 at 19:30

We may earn a commission from links on this page.

Preview is one of the Mac's most underrated apps. At first, you'll likely only encounter Preview when you try to open images or PDFs, but there's much more to the app than just opening files. I began exploring Preview's advanced features a decade ago, and I've found it's one of the best free PDF editors for the Mac. And, if you have an iPhone or iPad, you get many of the same benefits with Preview's mobile version. If you'd like to make the most of Preview, here are 10 hacks you should know.

Use this shortcut to view files without opening them in Preview

It might seem paradoxical, but one of the best Preview hacks is avoiding using Preview when you don't need to. If you're opening every single app on your Mac each time you want to quickly view something, you're probably wasting a lot of time. Instead, you can preview files without opening them. Start by locating the file you wish to preview, then select it and press the spacebar. This action activates Quick Look, which taps into Preview to view the file without opening it. To close this preview, you can press the spacebar once again. I use this regularly to view images, PDFs, or even to check how many files are inside a folder. If you're annoyed by Preview's limitation of not showing the contents of a folder in Quick Look, then you can use an app called Folder Preview to add that feature to your Mac.

Change this setting to use Preview's hidden PDF dark mode

Dark Appearance in Preview for Mac.
Credit: Pranay Parab

Preview can open PDFs for you, but those files often have a bright white backgroundβ€”even when your device is in dark mode. If, like me, you dislike reading documents with bright backgrounds, there's good news: Preview allows you to use a dark background for PDFs. To try this, open a PDF in Preview, select View in the menu bar, then click Use Dark Appearance for PDF. This will switch the PDF to a dark background with white text, and Preview will remember your preferences for all PDFs that you open in the future. This feature also works in Preview for iPhone and iPad. Just open a PDF in the app, tap the three dots in the top-right corner, and select Dark Background.

Use "Open Image from Clipboard" to edit photos without saving them to your Mac

Most of us save images to our Macs before opening them using Preview. However, you can bypass this step by opening images directly from your clipboard. This way, you can copy an image from any app, including browsers or messaging apps, and have Preview open it for editing instantly. Copy any image to your Mac's clipboard, open Preview, and press Command + N to open the image for editing. Alternatively, you can open Preview and select File > New from Clipboard.

Use this hidden Preview setting to remove image backgrounds

Most people turn to image editors for relatively simple tasks such as removing the background from a photo. Preview can actually handle this task well, but the feature isn't obvious when you start using the app. You can check it out by opening an image in Preview and pressing Command + Shift + K, which should remove the picture's background.

There are two other ways to use this feature in Preview. You can either click Tools > Remove Background from the menu bar, or select Remove Background in the app's toolbar, which has a camera icon with diagonal lines within the borders. (This was a recent discovery for me, as I didn't know what this icon did until I accidentally left the cursor on the button and read the tooltip.)

Open PDFs and images in Preview to copy their text

Preview also makes it easy to copy text from images and PDFs. While most PDF documents make it easy to select text, I've come across quite a few where each page is a scanned image, which prevents you from selecting text. In these situations, Preview can help you extract text from images easily. To use this feature, open an image, screenshot, or PDF in Preview, move the cursor over the text, and double-click or drag the cursor over the text to select it. Feel free to copy and paste it as you like. This feature works in Preview for iPhone, iPad, and Mac.

Use this setting to turn your iPhone into a dedicated document scanner

Scan documents with Preview.
Credit: Pranay Parab

Preview for Mac allows you to use your iPhone as a document scanner. Open the app and go to File > Import from iPhone > Scan Documents. As long as your iPhone and Mac are signed in to the same iCloud account, this should open the Camera app on the iPhone, automatically set to scan documents. Point the camera at a page, and your iPhone will automatically identify borders and scan the page. It's set to keep scanning until you press the checkmark button in the top-right corner. Once you're done, the document is automatically imported into Preview for Mac, where you can edit the scan before saving it. The same scanning mode is available in Preview for iPhone and iPad. Open the app and tap Scan Documents to get started.

Reveal your image's metadata before uploading to the internet

Metadata, like EXIF data, allows you to identify important details about a photo, such as when it was captured, which camera and lens were used, where you shot the image, and so on. Preview lets you view this metadata easily. Just open any image in Preview, and tap or click the i button in the app. On iPhone and iPad, this reveals a long list of all metadata for the photo. On Mac, you'll see these details organized into two tabs. Click the i tab to view the rest of the metadata in Preview for Mac.

This can be a great way to learn more about how your photo was shot. (There really is a lot of data here.) But I also recommend reviewing this data before sharing the image with others, or on the internet. If you find too many personal, sensitive, or identifying data points within, take steps to remove the EXIF data before sending the image out into the wild. Before sending a photo on Mac, right-click it in Finder, choose Quick Actions > Convert Image, then uncheck Preserve Metadata.

Combine multiple PDF pages into one document with Preview

Preview is a good free PDF editor for iPhone, iPad, and Mac. You can use it to combine multiple PDF pages into a single document, or to remove pages from a PDF file. To use this feature, open a PDF file in Preview. If you're doing this on a Mac, click the sidebar button, located to the right of the green full-screen button in the toolbar. Select Thumbnails, and click the tiny + button in the bottom-left corner. Then, choose Insert Page from File… If you wish to delete a page from a PDF, simply select its thumbnail in the left pane, and press the delete key on your Mac's keyboard.

In Preview for iPhone and iPad, open a PDF, and swipe right from the left edge of the screen to show page thumbnails in a pane. Tap the three dots on any page, and select Insert from File to combine pages from another PDF. In the same menu, tap Delete Page to remove a page from the PDF file.

Use Preview's "Signature" feature to avoid printing out documents

Preview allows you to digitally sign documents, which can be a big help. If someone asks you to send a signed copy of a document, you don't have to print it, sign the file, and scan it again to send it back. Instead, you can open the file in Preview, and click Form Filling Toolbar (the rectangle with three dots and a pencil). This appears in the toolbar up top in Preview for Mac, and in the bottom bar in Preview for iPhone or iPad. Then, you can choose Add Signature to create your digital signature, and sign the document quickly.

Edit a PDF's permissions to password-protect your documents

Preview for Mac is also a good tool to add or remove passwords from your PDFs. To add a password to your PDF, open a document in Preview, and select File > Export. Click Permissions, and you'll be able to add a password to open the document, and even an owner password for the file, which lets you stop people from editing, printing, or copying text from your PDFs without the password. To remove a password from a PDF file, open it in Preview on your Mac, and go to File > Enter Password. Once you enter the owner password in the right pane, select Edit, which will let you edit the permissions for the document. You can use this settings pane to remove all passwords from the file, and save it to your computer.

10 New Features Coming to Apple Messages in iOS 27

9 July 2026 at 14:00

We may earn a commission from links on this page.

While iOS 27 might be focused on Siri AI, there are plenty of other upgrades under the surface. Case in point: The new update brings a number of new features to Messages. The app is getting an AI feature that's actually useful, better notifications, and performance updates that bring faster loading and syncing across devices. Here's everything that's coming to Messages in iOS 27. Note that the update isn't due out until sometime in the fall, and while you can try these features on the iOS 27 beta now, understand the risks involved before you do. See Lifehacker's explainer here for more information.

You can now remove the voice message button

I do send voice notes here and there, but not nearly enough to justify keeping the voice message button in the chat box. More often than not, I hit that button accidentally and end up sending garbled audio from my pocket. With iOS 27, you can now customize that button. Once you've updated to iOS 27, you can go to Settings > Apps > Messages, and select Show in Text Field. You have three choices here: Record Audio, Start Dictation, and None. I went with "None," but you're free to replace voice messages with dictation too.

iOS 27 lets you speed up voice notes in iMessage

When you receive a voice note in iMessage in iOS 27, you'll notice that your iPhone allows you to control the playback speed. Previously, you had to listen to the voice note at 1x speed. In iOS 27, you can bump it up to 1.25x, 1.5x, or 2x. Just tap the 1x button next to any voice note once to reveal the playback speed menu. This'll save you a lot of time when listening to longer voice notes.

Use Siri AI to write your messages

The new Siri AI from iOS 27 is also fully integrated with Messages. When you open a chat and tap the chat box, you'll see a "Write with Siri" button above the keyboard. You can tap this and ask Siri to compose a message for you, or even rewrite or edit your message to change its tone or add a few more details. You can also ask Siri AI to find specific messages, images, or links sent in the app. This feature is exclusive to devices that support Apple Intelligence.

Drawing is a new iMessage app

It's easy to forget that iMessage has "apps," but it looks like Apple hasn't given up on the category yet. In iOS 27, Apple added a new one called Drawing, which allows you to quickly draw something and send it to your contacts. Even if your contact doesn't have iOS 27, they'll still be able to view the drawings you send. To access it, press the + button next to the chat box, and you'll see all available iMessage apps.

Apple is adding one-tap suggestions in Messages

iOS 27 is also adding one-tap suggestions to Messages for iPhones that support Apple Intelligence. I haven't tried this feature yet, but Apple has shared a couple of examples of how this could play out. When someone asks you for photos, Apple says Siri AI can suggest relevant options by recognizing keywords, locations, and people in your photo library. In another scenario, if your friend asks you to bring something to your next meeting, you'll see buttons to add that message to Notes or Reminders.

iOS will automatically try resending failed messages

Whenever a message fails to send, it typically sits in the Messages app with a big red exclamation mark next to it. With iOS 27, your iPhone will try to resend these messages. Other reliability updates include faster message loading and faster syncing across devices.

Each message gets its own send indicator

When you send a large attachment, like a high-res photo or video, it can add confusion to your chats in Messages, as text messages sent after the photo or video may look like they're waiting for the media to send first. Apple is fixing this in iOS 27 by showing you a send indicator for each individual message. That way, you can see that while a video might still be sending, the message you sent after already went through.

You can search for messages by phone number or nickname

In the Messages app, you can use the search field to look up conversations by phone number, and you'll see all the conversations that include the person who has that number. You can also search for a person's nickname in Messages to reveal all conversations with that personβ€”assuming you've added their nickname to their contact.

Consolidated notifications for message reactions

When you're in a big group chat, and 15 people react to your joke, it blows up your iPhone's notifications. Apple's changing that in iOS 27, and will only show a single notification for multiple reactions.

Inline replies for RCS messages

When you're texting people who use Android, you'll automatically use RCS messaging. In iOS 27, you can send inline replies to people via RCS, which means you and the recipient will be able to see which of their texts you're replying to. This is great when you're on a text thread with a mix of people on iOS and Android, as it will make the conversation a lot easier to follow.

❌